2021 Section Award Winners

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

ASA COMPARATIVE-HISTORICAL SOCIOLOGY SECTION AWARD RECIPIENTS 2021

IBN KHALDUN DISTINGUISHED CAREER AWARD

In recognition of a lifetime of outstanding contributions to comparative-historical sociology.

Winner: Orlando Patterson, John Cowles Professor of Sociology at Harvard University

Committee: Andreas Wimmer (Chair), Columbia, andreas.wimmer@columbia.edu; Julian Go, University of Chicago,  jgo34@uchicago.edu; Philip Gorski, Yale, philip.gorski@yale.edu; Monica Prasad, Northwestern University, m-prasad@northwestern.edu

BARRINGTON MOORE BOOK AWARD

Winner: Elisabeth S. Clemens, Civic Gifts: Voluntarism and the Making of the American Nation-State (Chicago 2020).

Honorable Mention: Yuen Yuen Ang, China’s Gilded Age: The Paradox of Economic Boom and Vast Corruption (Cambridge University Press 2020).

Committee: Stephanie Lee Mudge (Chair), University of California-Davis,  mudge@ucdavis.edu; Robert Braun, University of California-Berkeley,  robert.braun@berkeley.edu; Angel Parham, Loyola University- New Orleans  aaparham@loyno.edu

CHARLES TILLY ARTICLE AWARD

Co-Winner: Hana Brown, “Who Is an Indian Child?  Institutional Context, Tribal Sovereignty, and Race-Making in Fragmented States,” American Sociological Review. 2020; 85(5):776-805.

Co-Winner: John N. Robinson III, “Making Markets on the Margins: Housing Finance Agencies and the Racial Politics of Credit Expansion,” American Journal of Sociology . Volume 125, Number 4 | January 2020

Committee: Shamus Khan (Chair), Columbia University, sk2905@columbia.edu; Eddy U, University of California, Davis eu@ucdavis.edu; Alexander Kentikelenis, Bocconi University, Milan alexander.kentikelenis@unibocconi.it

THEDA SKOCPOL DISSERTATION AWARD

Winner: Benjamin H. Bradlow, “Urban Origins of Democracy and Inequality: Governing Sao Paolo and Johannesburg, 1985-2016.”  Ph. D. Dissertation, Brown University 2020.

Committee: Lyn Spillman (Chair), University of Notre Dame Lynette.P.Spillman.1@nd.edu; Tad Skotnicki, University of North Carolina, Greensboro,  tpskotni@uncg.edu; Lotesta, Johnnie Anne, Harvard University, Ash Center, johnnie_lotesta@hks.harvard.edu

REINHARD BENDIX STUDENT PAPER AWARD

Winner: Omri Tubi (Northwestern), “Kill me a mosquito and I will build a state: political economy and the socio-technicalities of Jewish colonization in Palestine, 1922–1940” Theory and Society: 50, pages 97–124 (2021).

Honorable Mention: Wen Xie (Chicago), “Generation as Structure: Market Transformation in China’s Socialist Industrial Heartland”

Committee: Jonathan Wyrtzen (Chair), Yale University, jonathan.wyrtzen@yale.edu; Maryam Alemzadeh, Princeton, ma40@princeton.edu; Simeon J. Newman, Michigan, simnew@umich.edu

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *